All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title


In Stock









Next Perfect Thing

Next Perfect Thing

  • By Down Holly
  • Release 19/10/2004
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: $21.43

Currently Out of Stock
Privacy Policy

Product Notes

'Show me something new, I've got 1,000 other records to play.' This sentiment captures the core of Down Holly's latest release: Something new and satisfying to drag a listener into the CD from the first note -- and keep them there. Entitled 'Next Perfect Thing,' the new CD is a radical hi-fi departure from the band's lo-fi beginnings. What started as an acoustic project matured into the music that helped define the DC-Metro power pop/rock scene. Along the way, acoustic guitars gave way to electric ones, and the simplicity of an unplugged duo was updated with the sonic textures of a full-on rock outfit. The sound: a balance of power pop and melodic alternative rock. The album frames the band's distinctive lyrics with an amalgam of musical inputs. The method: Take plenty of big guitars to satisfy modern rock fans; bind them to melodic, convincingly-delivered vocals; add a measured yet flexible rhythm corps; and filter it through catchy and clever songwriting. The result: a modern pop rock classic. The facetiously titled 'Next Perfect Thing' is not short on highlights, including two multi-week top 10 downloads from, 'Someday Maybe' and 'Bright Eyes' (the latter a Washington Post Editor's Pick). The CD also showcases the roots rock gallop 'Lions', the indie textured 'Curious', the Minneapolis post-punk inspired 'Kindergarten', and the uber-pop rock title track. While individually diverse, the ten songs on 'Next Perfect Thing' collectively form a convincing, cohesive, and magnetic effort. In it's 2.5 year run, Down Holly were a staple on the DC rock scene, meeting with strong reviews from critics, music fans, and bands with which they shared a stage. 'Catchy, familiar, yet completely original' became the buzz phrase for Down Holly, and for good reason: Big guitars and wide-open choruses; chops, hooks, and vocal ingenuity; plus aurally inspiring rhythm and bass. It's all here: Down Holly's 'Next Perfect Thing.' Down Holly are: WILL ROBERTS - lead vocals, guitar JOHN CUNNINGHAM - drums, vocals TED MORGAN - lead guitar, vocals LEE SOLOMON - bass, vocals.


Artist: Down Holly
Title: Next Perfect Thing
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 19/10/2004
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 634479054068
This product is a special order