All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title


In Stock









Dream of I

Dream of I

  • By Doug Wyatt
  • Release 11/07/2006
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: $32.65

Currently Out of Stock
Privacy Policy

Product Notes

The Dream of 'I' gathers diverse styles ranging from classical, electronic and jazz to pop, into a vision that pianist, composer and music software inventor Doug Wyatt offers as electronic music "unplugged." In composing the album, Wyatt used the computer extensively for orchestration and electronic sound design. He then traveled to Sweden where Christoffer Lundquist (Roxette, Ulf Lundell, Per Gessle, Ed Harcourt) produced the CD at Aerosol Grey Machine Studio. In the studio, the pair transformed the home-recordings with live performances. Wyatt himself plays the grand piano with mastery, while a Swedish string quartet enriches the soundscape. Vocals, too, contrast and blend with classic Minimoog synth sounds and other ear-stretching digital creations, with timpani, live drums, and programmed percussion completing the recording. The Dream of 'I' lures us into an intricate web that converges classical, electronic, jazz and pop genres; a soundtrack to a mythical filmscape. Often dense and intricately contrapuntal, the CD is a refined and dramatically passionate work. ARTIST BIO DOUG WYATT has been composing and performing original music since 1979. Wyatt joined the avante-rock group Red Letter in 1992, touring with them and contributing to the 1995 release, True North (V Records). He also appears on Red Letter guitarist Robby Aceto's critically-acclaimed 1996 CD Code (Alchemy Records). Wyatt's credentials include performing with Mother Mallard, the world's first synthesizer ensemble, from 1998-2000. He played with the group for their 30th anniversary concert as well as a performance at the Smithsonian with guest Keith Emerson. Since 1986, Wyatt has written state-of-the-art music software, for which he has attained legendary status among musicians. Indeed, many know him solely as creator of the Open Music System (OMS), which Keyboard magazine hailed in 2000 as one of the greatest technological achievements of the previous 25 years. OMS advanced the digital audio workstation by unifying communication among thousands of input devices such as keyboards, samplers, effects and mixers, and music software. OMS is dead, and Wyatt now works in the Core Audio group at Apple Computer. Born at the crossroads of music and technology, Doug Wyatt lives and thrives there. To this day he splits his time between his own musical journey and making tools for the rest of us.


Artist: Doug Wyatt
Title: Dream of I
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 11/07/2006
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 616892824220
This product is a special order