All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title


In Stock









One Who's Leavin'

One Who's Leavin'

Share Twitter
Price: $27.99

Currently Out of Stock
Privacy Policy

Product Notes

'THE ONE WHO'S LEAVIN'' IS #20 ON R&R'S TOP AMERICANA ALBUMS OF 2007 Doug Spartz has one of the warmest hearts I've ever encountered. Getting to know him, even just a little, is one of the true joys I've had in three years of doing the Bob Dylan Radio Hour on Sirius. I love American Stories Lies and Tales, and after hearing 'Ring Them Bells' and 'Forever Young' from the new album I can't wait to hear the rest. Got to be some terrific stories in song there. Michael Tearson Sirius, Sing Out! THIS CD PEAKED AT #4 ON R&R'S AMERICANA CHART Doug Spartz ended a twelve year musical hiatus in 2006 when he emerged from retirement with his top 100 Americana release entitled "American Stories, Lies & Tales". His song "Name on the Wall" that he co-wrote with producer Doug Deforest, charted at #66 on Billboard and earned him the distinction of being name Country Aircheck Daily Shaker for the highest increase in spins in a 24 hour period. In August, he performed an hour long show on XM Live with Country Dan Dixon. But life took an unexpected twist in November when he suffered a heart attack. Following surgery, Doug continued to recuperate at home, putting his music aside. His recovery didn't seem to be going as well as he would like so in February he went to the Mayo Clinic for a complete physical and it was discovered that he had colon cancer. Now more then ever, he realized that he needed to get back to writing and recording so he scheduled time in the studio with Deforest just two weeks after his hospital release. "The One Who's Leavin'" is the result of that recording project. Teaming up with the incomparable "Cuttin' Crew", they recorded some of Doug's new music and also did some songs that he had wanted to record for a long time. Joining him on some of the cuts are Jay Boy Adams, Tom Gillam, Eilen Jewell, Billy Lee Riley, and Sarah Jo Roark. Additional guest musicians include Bruce "Creeper" Kurnow, Bobby "Stinger" Schnitzer, Cynthia Johnson, Pamela McNeill, Billy Joe French and Gary Gazaway. The resulting project is a mix of everything from Americana, bluegrass, blues, country, rock...all blended into an unbelievable collection sure to please any listener's musical taste. • "Tombstone Mansion"-this Spartz penned tune is truly a production masterpiece. Joining in on the vocals are Tom Gillam (Americana great), Cynthia Johnson (legendary voice of "Funkytown"), Bobby Schnitzer (guitar giant of "Funkytown" fame), Pamela McNeill, Sarah Jo Roark and the Cuttin' Crew. The fiddle solo by Tim Crouch is phenomenal! • "Flight of Jesse James"-Spartz wrote this bluegrass tune based on the legendary story of Jesse James and the Northfield bank robbery. Notable historian and author, Jack Koblas, provided historical accuracy to the song. Jay Boy Adams lends his signature vocals to the song. • "Ring Them Bells"-a Dylan classic, featuring Billy Lee Riley (Sun Records recording legend). This haunting rendition stands solid. • "Dudes' Dream #26 (All the Young Dudes)-reaching back into his rocker background, Spartz adds his own interpretive ending to this classic David Bowie penned song. With no guarantee as to what the future holds, Spartz is planning on continuing to write his songs and record his music. He will begin touring in late summer. Quote from "Wildman Steve" at WQNR "The Rock" Doug Spartz is a national treasure waiting to be discovered by the national audience. His songs come from his heart, which he obviously wears on his sleeve, and are infused with a genuine sense of humor that's wildly entertaining. We're still getting requests for "Wake Me Up & Slap Me" more then a year after it was introduced to our audience. I can't wait for the next album! As for "Pederson & Jesus"-another winner! I love the back-up singers; it's just the right touch to another great Spartz tune. That's three-for-three...gonna be a heckuva great album! Quote from Larry Timko at Clear Channel Worldwide "Despite the fact he was hospitalized for a heart attack...Doug Spartz music still has a ton of heart. Rich textured harmonies and lyrics that provoke the imagination." Quote from Bobby Leach at Clear Channel "Every time I hear "Name on the Wall" & "The Rocket (Number 29)" I have to wipe the tears from my eyes and my computer screen. Quote from John Hendricks at Music Choice TV "Doug Spartz' voice is as fine an instrument as any Stradivarius ever made. Quite simply, I've never heard anything quite like it!


Artist: Doug Spartz & Friends
Title: One Who's Leavin'
Genre: Country
Release Date: 14/08/2007
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 789577545328
This product is a special order