All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title


In Stock











  • By Dolorata
  • Release 17/06/2008
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: $15.92

Currently Out of Stock
Privacy Policy

Product Notes

Believer is the much anticipated debut album from Bay Area rockers Dolorata. This all female quintet, whose name derives from the meaning "Mother of Sorrows", is ready to reach out past their Bay Area roots with this recording and hopes to bring their music to a town near you soon! At home, Dolorata has already opened for such high profile acts as Iggy and the Stooges; The Gossip; The Cliks; Lez Zeppelin; Sistas in the Pit; A Band Called Pain and The Ooh Lahs. They continue to grow their faithful fan-base through energetic live performances through out the region and beyond. In addition to these shows, they have also been seen in most Bay Area print publications in the past few years including a featured article in the Bandwidth column of the San Francisco Chronicle; mentions and recommendations in the SF Chronicle, San Francisco Examiner, The Bay Guardian and the SF Weekly. The 11 song CD Believer rocks with intensity and passion, recalling the sensibility of the rock bands of the 70's, while simultaneously existing the present tense. Dolorata's' original songs in combination with the musicianship, influences and experiences of these five individual musicians come together to create a new sound described most simply as "rock and roll". You can feel the blues and soul that guided so many pioneering bands during rock's heyday, but you also hear and feel the influence of today's cutting edge music. The songs are recognizable and riff based - guided by lead vocalist/guitarist/songwriter Katie Colpitts. Katie created Dolorata a few years back with former Hail Mary's bandmate Veronica Savage and roommate Dori Sappo. Dori joins Katie on guitar and background vocals, while Veronica is on bass and background vocals. Completing the line-up are Emily Palen on violin and Dawn Richardson on drums. The band members have played with such notable Bay Area groups as The Hail Marys; 4 Non Blondes; Shelley Doty Xtet; The Loud Family; Silveroot; Roger Rocha and the Golden Hearts; The Pitts; Underground Tsunami; and The Amazon Mollies. Each member brings to Dolorata their unique musical experiences and their sound as a musical entity has been likened to such bands as Wolfmother; AC/DC; Cream and Led Zeppelin. Those bands and so many more have influenced them and it all comes into the musical mix. Their blues influenced, hard rock inspired collaboration always packs a punch. After a listen you might think, "It's only rock and roll, but I like it".


Artist: Dolorata
Title: Believer
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 17/06/2008
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 796873082082
This product is a special order