All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title


In Stock









Greene Country Towne

Greene Country Towne

  • By Desoto Rust
  • Release 16/05/2006
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: $19.24

Currently Out of Stock
Privacy Policy

Product Notes

Desoto Rust Unveils New American Roots Offering With the release of their second CD, Greene Country Towne, Desoto Rust elevates their take on American roots music to a new level. On their critically acclaimed debut CD (Desoto Rust, October 2004), the Philadelphia-based band offered up a raucous collection of tunes which were faithful to a Desoto Rust live show - stripped down and hard-rocking. This time around, the band has delivered a more varied and complex album, one that shows a band whose writing and performing sound is maturing and moving in new directions. Desoto Rust formed in early 2004, recorded the debut CD over the following summer, and, without the benefit of a label or promotion engine, made it's first showing on the Freeform American Roots (FAR) chart in June 2005. The band's music has received frequent airplay on stations across the U.S., Canada, Europe and Australia and made several DJ's "best of" lists for 2005. Some of the band's accomplishments: * Seven months on the Freeform American Roots chart (peaking at #11) * Three months on the Euro-Americana chart (peaking at #12) * Nominations for song and CD of the year by contributors to the FAR chart Here's what the critics said about Desoto Rust's debut CD: "...the material...hits a very high standard for a band that's barely a year old but which can sound like The Band at it's best." - John Conquest, 3rd Coast Music, August 2005 "Immediately the band sounds like a cross between Creedence and Steve Earle with powerful drawled vocals and a killer riff. Several other songs continue in this vein with stories of hard-drinking men, hard luck stories and trucks, with great riffs and soaring vocals." - Paul Kerr, Americana UK, March 2005. Greene Country Towne (a reference to William Penn's lofty vision for Philadelphia) once again features contributions from the band's three songwriters. The result is a collection of original songs that is varied yet cohesive, with it's themes of heartbreak, isolation, disappointment, and the promise of redemption on the American road. The instrumentation, still centered around the twang of the guitar, is more layered and sophisticated, while remaining true to it's Americana roots. Guest vocals, pedal steel, and keyboards round out the sound. Desoto Rust: Mike Simmons - vocals, bass Dave Reeve - vocals, drums Ray Hunter - vocals, rhythm guitar David Otwell - vocals, lead guitar.


Artist: Desoto Rust
Title: Greene Country Towne
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 16/05/2006
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 884502042993
This product is a special order